20 Nov 2019

Sentireascoltare premieres new Gnoomes single

This Friday the Russian outfit Gnoomes who blend a potent mix of psychedelic stargaze, kraut techno and kosmiche pop are releasing a new three track single 'Irma' – the third single from their latest album MU!. And you can listen to it two days early exclusively via Italian site Sentireascoltare.

Listen here: Sentireascoltare

'Irma' like the rest of MU! was recorded in the same old soviet radio station where the band recorded their second album Tschak!. This was to ensure the best capture of Gnoomes live assault. The results brim with a magnitude and sense of coherence that belies some of the environment it was created in. Fuzz-driven guitars shift in engulfing waves, resembling shoegaze giants at their most ferocious, whilst layered vocals stack on top of one another, weaving between pristine melody and augmented discordance. The track pulses with an electronic tinge that bubbles more subtly under the surface of immersive guitars.

The single comes with two b-sides, the first is an unreleased song called 
Xmas Decay – a perfect slice of shoegaze pop where melody and soaring guitars collide and shimmer. 

Following that we have a techno-driven remix of Irma by Russian producer and multi-instrumentalist Radiooff, real name Eugeniy Gorbunov. He is the person who produced the album Mu! with the band so has a very close relationship to the sounds the band create.

The band are heading out on tour this weekend including 7 dates around Italy:

23 Nov / BE / Liege / KulturA
25 Nov / IT / Ravenna  / Moog Bar
26 Nov / IT / Padova / UltraSuono
27 Nov / IT / Milano / Spazio Ligera
28 Nov / IT / Pescara / Scumm
29 Nov / IT / Jesi / Mancave
30 Nov / IT / Savona / Raindogs House
01 Dec / IT / Firenze / Titty Twister
05 Dec / LV / Vilnius - XI20
06 Dec / LV / Riga / Depo
08 Dec / RU / ST Petersburg / Down Town
12 Dec / RU / Nizhniy Novgorod / Black Ho

Buy Mu! on ltd LP and CD in your local record shop or direct from us here: Bandcamp