28 Nov 2018

Watch New Gum Takes Tooth Video 'Borrowed Lies'

Gum Takes Tooth have just revealed a new video 'Borrowed Lies' (Radio Edit) the second track to come from their forthcoming album 'Arrow'. The album is released on 25 January and you can watch the video above. The Johnny O Rocket created three and a half minute rhythmically driven stomp of a video is riddled with Strobes, so you've been warned!!!

You can stream or buy the track here: Borrowed Lies
Bandcamp: Bandcamp

And see what The Quietus say about the track here: The Quietus

The stunning b-side of this single is a ‘rework’ of Borrowed Lies by Italian astral-voyaging collective Lay Llamas. Led by Nicola Giunta, he has masterly produced an afrofuzz cosmic funk rework as a travelogue powered by a pan-global tribal fascination with rhythmic hypnosis and an unquenchable experimental mindset.  

The track centres around an addictive percussive groove and climaxes with a heavily overdriven fuzzed organ that create a psychedelic mantra in the vein of some of the early 1970’s tracks from Ethiopiques series albums.


Gum Takes Tooth, the London duo of Jussi Brightmore and drummer Tom Fug unique approach whereby manipulated drum-triggered electronics achieve a dynamic, rhythmically driven and flagrantly unclassifiable fury that flirts with both speaker-ripping psych-rock pyrotechnics and synapse-shredding acid house delivered avoiding any of the trappings or clichés of either.

Borrowed Lies (Radio Edit), the second track to be released from bands debut Rocket album ‘Arrow’ is a three and a half minute rhythmically driven stomp like a heavy strobing LCD Soundsystem from the future.

“It concerns the small change victories and comforts our culture portions out to us to placate us and prevent action towards change - the lie of self-empowerment and paranoia is the ‘weapon offered as a gift’”elucidates Jussi the bands singer. “It ends with a call to arms to look inward to find the weapon to overcome this”.

Gum Takes Tooth are mavericks to the last, perpetual square-pegs and a band intent on forging onward to break all or any paradigms before them, creating a collection of kinetic anthems to battle everyday oppression - a work of machine-driven mania with its very human heart on its sleeve.


Gum Takes Tooth will be heading out on the road in 2019 to support the release of the album:

24 Jan - Leicester (The SoundHouse)
25 Jan - London (Electrowerkz – with Nik Void, Sex Swing, Michael and Coldnose)
01 Feb - Ramsgate (Ramsgate Music Hall)
02 Feb - Sheffield (Audacious Space)
14 Feb - Dublin (Drop Dead Twice)
15 Feb - Cork (The Roundy)
16 Feb - Manchester (Star & Garter)
05 March - Paris (Badaboum)
07 March - Lille (L’Aeronef)

08 March - Tours (Le Temps Machine)

With more to be confirmed.

The album is also available on 2 x red/grey vinyl – ltd vinyl and CD.
We have copies up for pre-sale now here: Bandcamp