22 Mar 2019

Vote for Rocket in the Italian Vinyl Sleeve Design Awards:

We are delighted to share that Rocket's very own Johnny O has been nominated for the Italian Vinyl Sleeve Design Awards with his Mamuthones 'Fear On the Corner' artwork.

It is a public vote so if your interested and like the sleeve then vote for your top 3 here:  

Best Art Vinyl

!!!Voting closes on 31 March 2019!!!


Plus you can still buy the vinyl: Mamuthones 


Raven Sings The Blues reviews Paisiel album

They say:

Released in short supply as a cassette on Portuguese label Lovers & Lollypops last year, Rocket Recordings is giving new life to the eponymous album by Paisiel, the duo of João Pais Filipe and Julius Gabriel. The album’s three tracks are dark sojourns through psychedelic jazz – wrestling with rhythms and running sax down the skin with the menace of a freshly sharpened knife. The pair coax one another constantly throughout the LP, challenging the other to make a step too far, to pierce the psychedelic barrier and scar the psyche beyond repair. On opener “Satellite” the drums pound in the brain with an anxious insistence – skittering in an endless tumult before the foreboding gnash of gongs makes it clear that something transcendental and otherworldly is afoot.

The space rock shivers continue to torment the onset of “Limousine in the Desert,” bandying echo and dust about in a sandstorm of sound that’s only hushed by a return to the polyrhythmic clatter of drums and the lonesome moan of the sax once again. Moans turn to squeals, squeals to squals as the band pounds out ritualistic furor that catches in the throat. The album is drenched in panic sweat, feeling every bit the soundtrack to imminent danger from all directions – the sky, the earth, the mind. There’s a feeling of ayahuasca and adrenaline in the veins and a teeth-clenched sudden realization that maybe there’s no danger at all. By that time the band rolls into the shortest and surest track in their album’s cycle. The panic calms, the dust clears and the earth crystalizes beneath the feet once again. They let the listener go with a grey trickle of rain that nourishes and numbs the psychic wounds inflicted over the past thirty minutes, but the scars remain.

See the full piece here: RSTB


Paisiel album released today

We are thrilled to announce the ltd vinyl release by the enigmatic duo Paisiel is released today. 

The band features the exceptional talents of Portuguese drummer/percussionist and sonic sculptor João Pais Filipe and the German saxophonist Julius Gabriel.

“A rhythmic plane between Africa, techno, krautrock, and minimalism.”
“Paisiel push the boundaries of sound in all the right ways.”
“A quasi-tribal trance through the language of jazz.”
“A driving force that unites past, present and future.”
"There’s a feeling of ayahuasca and adrenaline in the veins."
“Redefining what psych is, Rocket have yet another great example with Paisiel"

Buy the ltd edition LP from your local record shop or direct from us here: Bandcamp


The S/T three track album was originally released in 2018 as a ltd edition cassette on the great Portuguese label Lovers & Lollypops. And now Rocket Recordings are extremely proud to be releasing this unique recording on a ltd edition colour vinyl and across all digital channels.

In 2018 João Pais Filipe has also found the time to release a stunning and highly acclaimed solo album and a very exciting collaboration with fellow drummer/percussionist, and also very talented Valentina Magaletti (Tomaga/Vanishing Twin/UUUU) called CZN. And a few weeks ago João will be locking himself into the studio with GNOD to record some material together, the fruits of that will be revealed in the near future!

Paisiel are playing a Porto album launch tonight at CCOP, with support from OTRTORTO. And there are plans to bring their sonic explorations to the UK later in the year.

Info/tickets here: Lovers and Lollipops


21 Mar 2019

JamBase recommends Gum Takes Tooth's 'Arrow'

They say:

One more pick before our sugar rush wears off and our dentist gets wind of what we’ve been up to. We’ll finish appropriately with Gum Takes Tooth, a London duo whose new release, Arrow is a symphony of styles, sounds and moods. It’s introspective, it’s in-your-face, it’s in between. There are moments of sheer bliss and others of short-blast cacophony. It’s all engaging and worth listening to in full. It transforms and morphs from track to track and probably the less prepared you are the better, but there’s a good chance you’ll find something in there that really clicks for you on one end of the spectrum or the other. Enjoy, but don’t forget to brush your teeth!

See the full piece here: JamBase


Members from GNOD, KURO and HUM contribute tracks to new compilation

Sofia Records have just released a tape compilation called 'Songs of the Lunar Eclipse' that features new music by GNOD's Negra Branca and Paddy Shine, Kuro's Agathe Max, and ZOHASTRE which is two members of HUM...plus lots of other great artists contribute.

Buy and listen here: Sofia Records


Backseat Mafia reviews Paisiel's album

They say:

Paisiel is the enigmatic name given to this very special project that features the exceptional talents of Portuguese drummer/percussionist and sonic sculptor João Pais Filipe and the German saxophonist Julius Gabriel. This week they release a self-titled three track instrumental offering on Rocket Recordings that is certain to tingle the senses.

Based on an individual exploration of the sound and on the expressive possibilities of their instruments, the duo’s music seeks to join and systematize their influences, albeit without any obvious correspondences or affinities – resulting in textures and abstract melodies propelled by a mechanical and existential percussion that morphs into a kinetic trance.

Heterodox and digressive musicians, they move freely between the repetition of krautrock and techno, jazz, experimental music and other new musical categories, João Pais Filipe and Julius Gabriel create radio-graphic sounds that inhabits somewhere between the reception and the emission of a signal, like a cosmic telephone exchange...

Read the rest here: Backseat Mafia


20 Mar 2019

First look at Centrum 'För Meditation' Red Vinyl

First look at Centrum 'För Meditation' Red Vinyl.

"I didn’t not want it to stop… I never want it to stop." 
Read this great review Fragmneted Faneur

Pre-order your copy here: Bandcamp