4 Jun 2020

Rocket reveals it's 200th release – a ltd edition 7" EP by Anthroprophh

In 1998 Rocket Recordings launched with a debut split 7” between Bristol bands The Heads and Lillydamwhite. So it is fitting that the labels 200th release is a 7” EP by the band Anthroprophh – the Bristol three piece that features Paul Allen from The Heads and Gareth Turner the former bass player from Lillydamwhite.

Watch video for the track 'Too Old' – the first track to be revealed from the 'Toilet Circuit EP', exclusively via The Quietus here:

The Quietus

We have 200 copies of 'Toilet Circuit EP' available to preorder from the Rocket shop link below from 9am this Friday (5th June) – to coincide with Bandcamps 'No Fee' day. All copies are on pink vinyl and contain two inserts:

Rocket Bandcamp

‘Toilet Circuit EP’ is the bands first release since their mammoth double album Omegaville which was released to high acclaim in 2018. The three tracks that make up this EP follow on perfectly from the dense and psychedelic sounds of Omegaville – a feverish tirade of maximalism. Anthroprophh manage to find equal space for everything-on-11 riffage of The Stooges, krautrock repetitions, Butthole Surfers-esque bedlam, and surreal British humour.

Like previous Anthroprophh releases it is Allen’s guitar playing itself, that transcends the band to ‘higher’ limits. Globally renowned amongst freaks and connoisseurs alike from his untouchable contributions to The Heads. Taking Hendrix and Asheton-esque shapes and warping them beyond recognition into new paradigms, he also cites guitarists like Michael Karoli, early-‘70s Robert Fripp, Giles Buchan of Human Beast, Fred Frith and Geinrich of Guru Guru as influences, yet this ear-splitting treble-heavy scree and these heavenly FX-driven cacophonies could be the work of no-one else but this particular six-string iconoclast, who drives his trademark sound beyond anything he’s previously attempted in any incarnation.